top of page
Recent Posts

Lina M.


Each participant was provided with a simple task of navigating to the video screen for 'leg extensions'. They were also provided with questions that pertain to the use of the application and their feelings as they used it.

 

User: Lina Moon

Occupation: Student at UT Dallas

Age: 23

Comfort level with technology: intermediate - advanced

INSIGHTS GAINED:

• home screen confusion. Combine with instruction screen

• background image creates too much visual noise

• relabel equipment search to reflect body part search also

• lose tab bar at bottom

• fb profile pic on sign up

In this test you will be given the paper prototype of How 2 Gym and

asked to explore it. I will video your interactions with the product and

make notes about the experience.

1. Explore the app first, and talk about what you think this is about.

What can you do here, what's it for, what strikes you about it.

2. In this test I'm going to ask you to try to navigate to a video for 'leg

extensions', try and do that. Talk about your process and any difficulties

you encounter if any.

3. What, if anything do you like or dislike. Since this isn't a finished

design, what would you like to see in the final version?

 

Feedback:

- It seems like the Learn How 2 Gym screen is meant to be an onboarding screen,

but it didn't strike me as that way at first. I thought it was the home screen because

you could click into the 3 different sections, and it confused me when I realized

there was another screen with the same navigation right after it. I would try

combining the 2 screens with even shorter explanatory text.

- I see the style you were going for on the Learn How 2 Gym and Make Your

Selection pages, but I think the background image brings a bit too much visual

noise and makes the text less legible.

- I had no problem finding the video for leg extensions from the Body Map section.

I think without the onboarding page though (since there is no explanatory text on

the home screen) I wouldn't have thought to look for the video by clicking the QA

scan or the equipment search. I think you might want to relabel equipment

search so it's clearer that you can also search by body parts -- I should be

able to know that without reading a lot of text.

- I noticed the tab bar is only on a few screens -- it's confusing to me since it's the

type of navigation that is persistent throughout all screens of an app. I think it's

down to either removing it altogether or more fully incorporating it so it becomes

the main navigation throughout the whole app.

- I realize the Menu says Menu in giant letters at the top, but when I just glanced at

just the main area of the screen I thought it was another home screen.

- If you used facebook to login, it should show your name underneath your profile

pic too, right? :)


bottom of page